Lay it Down

Tonight, as a study break, we sang, “Lay it Down.”

Almost the whole song consists of those same repeated words.
I lay it down.
I lay it down.
I lay it down,
at Your feet.
I lay it down.
I lay it down.
I lay it down,
at Your feet.

As we sang, I tried to mentally lay everything down. My finals. My friends. My thoughts about my schedule for move-out. My thoughts about boys. My thoughts about anything other than God.
I lay them down.
And then, *flit* *flit* *flit*, thoughts about things other than the Almighty God fly back into my brain.
I ask Him to help me lay them down.
And we do.
And then they flit back. And I ask Him to help me again.

I can’t say I ever succeeded in completely focusing on Him during the worship. One might blame it on too much caffeine and an over-crowded schedule, but we all know those are just excuses.

He did grant me a beautiful picture, though. Look at it with me.
I lay it down. We lay it down. The whole Church body. We stand in concentric circles around the throne of God, bathed in reds and golds and yellows. With every repeat of “I lay it down” in the song, we each lay something before the throne. Around and around and around it goes. I lay down more and more. Each saint beside me lays down more and more.
The whole church.
Before our King.
At His feet.
The whole communion of saints.
Laying everything down.

And oh, picture: What can God do with a whole Church laying everything down before Him?!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Lay it Down

  1. Is this the Matt Maher song? I totally love that song. Such passion in it.

Leave a Reply

