Weary

God, I’m tired. Just plain tuckered out. My schedule is run, run, write, do this, A Cal, maybe sleep, run some more. I just want a pause button on life so I can stop, rest, sort out my muddled brain, and catch up on some much needed time just sitting at Your feet.

You call, “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

Your burden is light, yet I don’t know how to get to You. My mind is cluttered and my hands are busy fulfilling the commitments I’ve already made, though yes, I worry about the future, which is in your hands. You know and you hold in your hands my fellowship application, my graduate school application, and my future love. I don’t know how to be a good steward of these talents you’ve given me and to honor You by resting at Your feet. Show me.

The Sovereign LORD has given me an instructed tongue,
to know the word that sustains the weary.
He wakens me morning by morning,
wakens my ear to listen like one being taught.
– Isaiah 50:4

You are the Word, the λογος, that sustains the weary. I do not live on bread or sleep or school or discussion or CG alone, but on every Word that comes out of Your mouth.

He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
he restores my soul.
– Psalms 23

Lord, Father, restore my soul.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

