Sunday

Sundays have always been a little bit special.
Growing up, Sunday meant church. It meant some one-on-one time with my Dad, wiping doughnut crumbs off eachother’s faces and sitting in the sound booth during service. (I got to give the preacher his microphone battery, and I always got a hug.) Sunday was playing with my brother in the empty dance studio. Sunday was going to Sam’s Club and getting free food. Sunday nights were sitting in the kitchen, parents doing laundry or bills, brother running about, all of us eating cheese and turkey out of the fridge and just catching up on life. Sunday was reading my Bible and getting tucked in by both of my parents.
So Sundays have always been a bit special.

With increased responsibilities and sheer force of time, some of my wonder at the day has faded. It seems difficult for me to remember each Sunday that this was the day Jesus conquered death(!) (especially since His holy Sabbath often contains a lot of homework).

This is one reason Lent is good.
I have observed Lent in some way most of the years since I was a child, but this year I feel like I am learning so much more. I finally got a definite answer on whether Lenten observations continue on Sundays: they do not, because each and every Sunday is a mini Easter! So, the last two Sundays have been celebratory days: I’ve sipped wonderful Highland coffee before church and sat with a delicious Coca-Cola as I read the incredible number of blog entries that have built up over the previous week.
The last four days were really hard to keep my Lenten resolution. I traveled to visit a graduate school, where they got us up early in the morning and proceeded to pelt us with information and activities until the late evening. It was exhilarating but exhausting. By the third day, I was subconsciously (and consciously) searching for a Starbucks at every lab. (You laugh, but we saw one on the first floor of one of the lab buildings.) However, I kept to my resolution.
So today was quite a celebration. I know it sounds ridiculous to celebrate Sunday for caffeine and blogs (and let’s face it, it is pretty ridiculous). But, the beauty of focusing on God during Lent (in addition to giving a good thing up) is that He uses the mundane to teach heavenly lessons. God is using my small celebration of caffeine and blogs to turn me towards the rightful, glorious celebration that is each and every Sunday.

How was today just a little bit special?
I got to go to my wonderful church. I had some delicious coffee. I was given the courage to ask someone to sit with us. I heard God’s words in my pastor’s message. God used me to make someone who had taken the huge step of returning to church feel welcome in His Church. I got to read about my friend’s adventures with furry men and unicorns while sipping a Coca-Cola, and then talk with her about said adventures. (Praise the Lord for Skype!) The sun shone warmly. I got to sit and be with Greg. I had a Sunday night dinner worthy of my upbringing. 🙂 I got to sit in a Leadership Community meeting where Godly men and women expressed thoughts, stimulated my thinking, and worked out how to better help college students follow Jesus. I got to laugh and talk and pray with friends, new and old.
Most of all, today I celebrated that Jesus Christ is risen, making possible every good and wonderful thing.
Sundays are just a little bit special.

That’s what I love about Sunday:
Sing along as the choir sways;
Every verse of Amazin’ Grace,
An’ then we shake the Preacher’s hand.
Go home, into your blue jeans;
Have some chicken an’ some baked beans.
Pick a back yard football team,
Not do much of anything:
That’s what I love about Sunday.

Ooh, new believers gettin’ baptized,
Momma’s hands raised up high,
Havin’ a Hallelujah good time
A smile on everybody’s face.
That’s what I love about Sunday,
Oh, yeah.

-Craig Morgan, That’s What I Love About Sunday (full lyrics)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

