A Storm Approaches

Tonight the sinking sun reflects off the dust in the air, creating a glowing, sickly orange. The light coming through the windows looks unnatural. My body clock leads me to expect darkness outside, but the orange glows much brighter than dusk.
This is the eerie sky before a storm in West Texas. I feel as if I’m in some fantasy story before the witch flies over the land. Or maybe it’s just after the Cold War has turned hot, before the sound has reached my ears.
It’s a feeling of expectation, of preparing and waiting. It reminds me of the fear the ancients had when night approached, yet I know there is nothing to fear. It leaves me with a sense of wonder:
What will happen this night?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

