God in Graduate School

You might think, in a field like Bioengineering, it’s hard to see God’s beauty.
Here’s what I’ve seen in my first two weeks.

The lab in which I’m shadowing uses nanoparticles to detect disease. Strangely enough, depending on the size and aggregation of the particles, gold can look red or green. The grad student off-handedly remarked that some pieces of stained glass were made with embedded nanoparticles.

Windows at the Cloisters in New York City.

In one class, we’re learning how to manufacture things in the machine shop. As one of my classmates worked on her piece, I stared, fascinated, at the aluminum spirals peeling off the machine. The perfect ringlets looked like they belonged on the head of an angel.

Shavings of aluminum (from tinyurl.com/AlShaving)

Leonardo's angel

God’s workmanship is everywhere. I do not study the Dead Sea Scrolls, the lives of church fathers, or how people love one another, but still I see Him.
He made gold such that it can change colors, and He knew before the foundation of the world that people would use it both to tell His story through glass and to heal His children through diagnostics.
We know that He makes beauty from ashes, so why not angel hair from machine shop refuse?
He made the heart better at keeping man alive than anything else man can create.
He wrote the true equations of fluid mechanics, equations we can only approximate.

Our whole world cries out to its Maker!  And I get to study it!

This is my Father’s world, and to my listening ears
All nature sings, and round me rings the music of the spheres.
This is my Father’s world: I rest me in the thought
Of rocks and trees, of skies and seas;
His hand the wonders wrought.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “God in Graduate School

  1. Greg

    I meant to tell you earlier that I liked this entry, but I forgot. Good story!

Leave a Reply

