Food Inspired by the Rat

That’s right, tonight’s episode of Cooking with Meaghan features ratatouille from Ratatouille, via Smitten Kitchen.

(Before we get in to the part of the post I wrote while the dish was baking, let me just say that it was delicious. Very nigh worth the hour and a half from prep to plate. Also, I strongly recommend following Smitten Kitchen’s suggestions of couscous and goat cheese – they complement it very well.)

Surprisingly, I couldn’t find a picture of the dish in the movie for you to compare to, but here’s mine:

And here’s a rat:

Lessons learned:
– What the inside of an eggplant looks like. Seriously, I don’t think I’d ever seen one cut open. Fresh, at least.
– When the recipe involves a lot of cutting, turning your oven on does not have to go first.
– Buy zucchini, squash, and eggplant of similar diameters.  It looks prettier.
– Magic Bullet = not so magic. Or maybe so magic I don’t understand it. It turned some of the onions into purée and left others completely alone – I ended up resorting to chopping again. (Also, this weekend’s smoothie adventure with Greg and the Magic Bullet? Disappointing on all fronts. Except remembering once again how patient Greg is with my shenanigans.)

More pictures:

Look how pretty fresh veggies are!

Look how many knives I used!

My biggest one couldn’t cut through the skin of the eggplant, so I ended up using one of the small ones to break the skin and the big one to cut the slices. Eek! Good thing I’m getting married and registered for a new set of knives…

All in all, a worthy endeavor, though I look forward to not cooking alone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking with Meaghan

Leave a Reply

