Submission

“Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit in everything to their husbands.” – Ephesians 5:24

So, submission is a big part of marriage. A really big part.
Before Greg moved down,  I thought, Submission to Greg won’t be too hard. It’s like the Church submitting to Christ, and I’ve been submitting to Christ for years. No problem.

Ha. Haha. Hahahahahaha.

I forget sometimes (ha!) that I was born with a sinful and rebellious nature. And when you’re submitting to a real, live, fallible human person, that rebellious nature comes out.

For example, take cooking*. Shortly after he moved down, Greg and I were cooking some multi-part meal. He told me, “Pull that out of the oven, and set it on the front left burner.” I gave him a small look and set it on the back left burner, just because I could.

For another example, take putting together bookshelves. We got a small(ish) collection of shelves from Ikea whose back must be nailed on. I was about to hit my nails in, when Greg told me, “Wait until I get the middle nails in.” I hit my hammer on the wood anyway, just because I could.

Okay, okay, these are small and mostly comical examples, but they’ve made things very clear to me. Submission is hard. But good.

Learning to submit to Greg in the little and big things will teach me better how to submit to Christ, in both little and big ways. And visa versa – the more I learn to submit to the perfect Christ, the easier it will be to submit to a fallen Greg, who also submits to the perfect Christ (I’ll let other authors speak better to the nature of submission in marriage).

I think this is one of the reasons God values marriage so highly: it teaches us things about relating to Him that are hard to learn elsewhere. Thank you, Lord!

* Greg and I have spent a lot of time in his kitchen cooking together recently, and I’ve learned a lot.  I realized this when all of my examples in pre-marital counseling discussions involved the dishwasher.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

