Reflections on the New Year

Today I’m sitting in the library basking in the change of scenery from my office.  I’ve got a great view onto the main quad of this beautiful campus.  With classes starting Monday, I feel the excitement, the anticipation, the pregnant stillness of a college campus just before the start of the semester.

I’ve felt that atmosphere before (The Night Cometh).  What a difference just four years can make!  From the mundane (texting Google to get a Scripture?  Now I’ve got the whole Bible on my smartphone) to the world-changing (when I wrote that post, I hadn’t even heard of the man who would be my husband).  Just a few weeks later, I wrote “I’m trying to figure out how to get to my goal of helping large numbers of people in third-world countries with simple technologies.”  And now, that’s what I’m doing.   Here.  In this library.  Thank you, Lord, for fulfilled dreams.

There is no statue of Jesus on this campus to sit in front of, yet still He’s here, working.  Working “the works of him that sent me, while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work.”  He’s worked amazing changes – big and small – in my life these last four years.  What will He do this year?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

