Read in 2013, Part 2

Happy New Year!  Here’s wrapping up what I read in 2013:

Part 1.

  1. Abolition of Man by C.S. Lewis.  I’ve heard it said that Lewis thought this book and Till We Have Faces will be his most enduring.  I didn’t enjoy it overmuch, but I imagine I’m missing something.
  2. Leonardo’s Foot by Carol Ann Rinzler.  Bought in a weird little shop with my friend Natalie.  It traces the history of the human foot.  Strangely interesting.
  3. King Jesus Gospel by Scot McKnight. Our grad fellowship studied this book over the summer.  While poorly written, the ideas were wonderful.  It discusses a reclaiming of discipleship and recognizing Jesus’ Lord-ship, as opposed to a “gospel” that asks people to pray a prayer and then wait for death.
  4. Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper.  Enjoyable Arthurian-like children’s book.
  5. Diamonds in Darkhold by Jeanne DuPrau.  Continuing in the City of Ember series; quite good.
  6. Invisible Man by H.G. Wells.  (Spoiler alert?)  The invisible man is an albino who figures out how to remove the color from his hemoglobin and thus loses all color and becomes invisible.  While reading this book, I was working on an experiment to separate the heme (strongly red) from the globin (colorless) of hemoglobin.  Strange timing.
  7. Academology by Female Science Professor.  I got this when my advisor cleaned out her office.  A funny/insightful look on the weird things to happen in a professor’s life.
  8. Enchantment by Orson Scott Card.  20th century linguistics graduate student gets dropped into a 9th century Russian fairytale.  I couldn’t put it down.
  9. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. Re-read for some reason I can’t remember.  Good as ever.
  10. Red Mars by Kim Robinson.  Won a Hugo award.  Not my favorite sci-fi ever.
  11. Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper.  Sequel (with new characters) to Over Sea, Under Stone.  Enjoyable.
  12. Green Mars by Kim Robinson.  Sequel to Red Mars.  Despite my cool feelings for Red Mars, I had to know what happened next.  I have yet to read Blue Mars.
  13. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.  For Halloween.  So very different from all the movies, and quite good.
  14. Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery.  My friend jokingly threatened to end our friendship until I read this.  Quite glad she did – it was amazing.
  15. Anne of Avonlea by LM Montgomery.  Also amazing.
  16. Anne of the Island by LM Montgomery. Also amazing.
  17. Misreading Scripture with Western Eyes by Randolph Richards and Brandon O’Brien.  Highly recommended!  Points out some of the obvious and not-so-obvious biases Western readers tend to bring to Scripture.  It didn’t give a complete here’s how to interpret everything in Scripture rightly, but it did give pointers for recognizing biases you bring to the text and very interesting examples.
  18. Death Comes for the Archbishop by Willa Cather.  New priest heads out to the newly-acquired lands of New Mexico to start the diocese.  Very enjoyable.  Cather has a sparse, quiet style that is unique.
  19. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  Greg was appalled that I hadn’t read this one yet.  Now I have.  I recommend it.
  20. God’s Smuggler by Brother Andrew.  True story of a missionary behind the Iron Curtain.  I devoured this book in about a day.  (Thanks for the recommendation, Rachel!)
  21. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot.  Henrietta Lacks’ cancer cells were the first human cells successfully grown in culture and paved the way for discoveries like the polio vaccine.  Unfortunately, her family knew nothing about it until recently.  The book is a reporter’s effort to get the full story – the science, Henrietta’s life, her children’s lives and responses to the science, race and poverty relations, and more.  Quite enjoyable.  (Passed the time at the hospital.)
  22. Byzantium by Stephen Lawhead.  I haven’t read a bad book by Lawhead yet.  This is the fictional story of an Irish monk taking the Book of Kells to the Byzantine Emperor.  Most of the book deals with how we believe in a God when there is immense suffering in the world. It’s an interesting counterpoint to the answer given in The Sparrow (read earlier this year) by a non-Christian.  (Also passed the time at the hospital.)
  23. Shadows in Flight by Orson Scott Card.  Next book in the Bean branch of the Ender’s Game series.  Delightful.
  24. Earth Unaware by Orson Scott Card.  First book in Card’s new series covering the First Formic War (pre-Ender’s Game).  A whole new cast of characters, and still delightful.  I can’t wait for the next one.

In progress:
– Pilgrim’s Progress by Bunyan.  This is my second run at it, and it’s not going amazingly well.  I might push through.
– Miracles by Lewis.  Very dense philosophy.  I will push through on this one, but slowly.

Leave a comment

Filed under What I've Read

Leave a Reply

