Read in 2014

  1. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card.  I had just started the new series and wanted to re-read!
  2. A War of Gifts by Orson Scott Card.  Christmas-y in the Ender universe.  Not his best.
  3. Ender’s Shadow by Orson Scott Card.  Another re-read.
  4. A History of the World in 6 Glasses by Tom Standage.  First book for my trip to Malawi!  It tries to tell the history of the world based around 6 drinks.  Somewhat entertaining, but I wouldn’t buy it.
  5. Anne of the Windy Poplars by Lucy Maud Montgomery.  Not my favorite Anne novel, but still good.
  6. Anne’s House of Dreams by Lucy Maud Montgomery.  Definitely my favorite Anne novel so far – I guess I read it at a good time of life.  Cried on the flight back home from Malawi.
  7. Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  I love the Sherlock TV show, and as it’s always on break, I started reading the original stories.  So delightful!  The BBC has done an amazing job being inspired by the actual characters.
  8. The Giver by Lois Lowry.  Stood up well on re-read.
  9. Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.
  10. Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry.  Part II of the Giver – good.
  11. Sign of the Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.
  12. Wool by Hugh Howey.  A story of distopian future that I couldn’t put down.  Highly recommended for an engaging read.  Also, one of the most successful stories from Amazon’s self-publishing system.
  13. Messenger by Lois Lowry.  Part III of the Giver – still good.
  14. Shift by Hugh Howey.  Part II of Wool – starts to tell the backstory of Wool.  I also couldn’t put this one down.
  15. Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald.  WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN ALL MY LIFE.  A young princess is targeted by a goblin, but there’s so much more.
  16. Princess and Curdie by George MacDonald.  POSSIBLY MY NEW FAVORITE BOOK.
  17. Miracles by CS Lewis.  This one was very dense and took forever to read, but SO WORTH IT.  The first chapters set things up and are harder to push through, but please do – the end is amazing.  (More here)
  18. Son by Lois Lowry.  Part IV of the Giver – still good.
  19. The Light Princess by George Macdonald.  An enjoyable and deep short story about a princess who is unaffected by gravity.
  20. Father Elijah by Michael O’Brien.  I devoured this one, finishing on Easter afternoon.  An apocalypse, but not typical of the genre.  Highly recommended.
  21. Dragon of the Lost Sea by Lawrence Yep.  I was trying to find another dragon book I read as a child, but found this one instead.  Still cute.
  22. Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo.  (I don’t recall why I re-read this one.)  Good story of a tiny mouse.  Read it to your favorite children.
  23. Dust by Hugh Howey.  Final book of Wool.  Another page turner.
  24. East of Eden by John Steinbeck.  A re-working of Cain and Abel in ~1900s America.  Good, but I’m not as enamored of it as others I know.  Maybe I’m missing something.
  25. I Once Was Lost: What Postmodern Skeptics Taught Us About Their Path to Jesus by Don Everts and Doug Schaupp.  Our graduate fellowship read this together.  It describes the long and somewhat winding path to faith of many students the authors encountered over the years.  I really like it – it seems more accurate to my perception of my friends than any other evangelism book I’ve come across.
  26. Lark Rise to Candleford by Flora Thompson.  Record of daily life in a poor, rural community in England in the ~1870s.  Recommended by Auntie Leila.  It’s sort of fiction, but mostly descriptive.  It was a slow pace, but I enjoyed it.
  27. White Fang by Jack London.  Recommended by my dad; I read it while he was fighting for his life in the ICU.  London does a delightful job of getting inside the head of a wolf pup.
  28. Call of the Wild by Jack London.  If you read White Fang, then you have to read Call of the Wild.  (I seem to be in a pattern of re-reading children’s books this year.)  It held up well to re-reading!
  29. Animal Farm by George Orwell.  More stuff to read in the hospital.  This one did not hold up as well to re-reading.
  30. Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.
  31. Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.
  32. Return of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.
  33. Valley of Fear by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.
  34. Ordinary Faith by Clay Lein
  35. St Francis of Assisi by GK Chesterton.  Not what I expected.  I felt like Chesterton kept telling me about the story he was about to tell, but he never got there.
  36. Booked by Karen Swallow Prior.  A Christian literature professor tells her autobiography through how a selection of books impacted her life.  It sounds right up my alley, but I didn’t enjoy it all that much.  The chapter on marriage (John Donne) mostly made the book worth it, though.
  37. Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan.  This one (an allegorical journey of Christian to heaven) took forever to read!  On taking it up the second time, I found it much more enjoyable.  I’m glad I’ve read it and may read it again in the future.
  38. End of Eternity by Isaac Asimov.  Strange but enjoyable story about “Eternals” who stand outside time and change events to make things “better.”
  39. Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson.  I discovered that reading free (out-of-copyright) books on my phone while waiting for things in lab was significantly better than playing Candy Crush.  I enjoyed the book and have used one of its plot points to explain my research difficulties this fall.
  40. Metamorphosis by Franz Kakfa.  Guy turns into a cockroach.  I found this very strange, and I don’t understand why it’s so popular.
  41. Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett.  Greg loves this movie.  I bawled through the book.
  42. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott (+ Good Wives).  Jessica told me we couldn’t be friends anymore if I didn’t read this book.  I’m so glad she made me read it!!!  I highly recommend it.  (Pilgrim’s Progress plays an important role in the book, too, so it was neat to have just finished it.)  I appreciated the way they treat  small sins with such seriousness.
  43. Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Stratton-Porter.  Another recommendation from Jessica.  A coming-of-age story of a girl with mother issues who lives in an Indiana swamp and collects moths.  It was wonderful!
  44. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep by Philip K Dick.  Rough basis for Bladerunner.  It was odd, but enjoyable.
  45. Flux by Orson Scott Card.  Very early short stories by OSC.  He got better!
  46. Case Book of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  47. Freckles by Gene Stratton-Porter.  Companion to Girl of the Limberlost featuring a boy.  Also wonderful.
  48. Little Men by Louisa May Alcott.
  49. Dracula by Bram Stoker.  For Halloween.  Enjoyable.
  50. Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe.  Inspired by my mother-in-law to pick up this classic.  I enjoyed it a lot.  I thought Stowe did a good job of showing a wide cast of characters with multi-faceted and changeable opinions on slavery.  There are some sentences that we would now call racist, but on the whole I think it’s a wonderful work and still worthy of re-reading.  Lots of discussion of Christianity.
  51. Folk of the Fringe by Orson Scott Card.  Collection of post-apocalyptic short stories.  The most Mormon of OSC’s works that I’ve read.  Enjoyable.
  52. Jo’s Boys by Louisa May Alcott.  Ah, the end of the series.  It was wonderful.
  53. The Promise by Michael Card.  A collection of songs, poems, and reflections surrounding Christmas.  I really liked his meditations about Balaam, the wise men, and the shepherds.
  54. God Came Near by Max Lucado.  Picked this up again as an Advent book.  It’s not my favorite Lucado book, but it had some neat meditations.  I think I owe some of my staccato writing style to Lucado.
  55. Black by Ted Dekker. Book 1 of the Circle trilogy.  When Thomas sleeps in this world, he wakes up in another world – a paradise that he doesn’t understand.  When he sleeps there, he wakes up here and must try to avert world-wide disaster.  I liked the trilogy as a whole – scifi/fantasy elements, meditations on an unfallen society, and seeing redemption in a new light.  I was placed in the awkward position of not recognizing the hero of the story until very late – it was humbling.  It’s not perfect, but I really liked it.
  56. The Birth by Gene Edwards.  Christmas Eve reading – a “behind-the-scenes” look at the Christmas story.  I usually love this genre, but I had a lot of problems with this book.  The gem I took from it was a meditation on “seed of woman” (Jesus) vs “seed of man” (… all the rest of us).
  57. Red by Ted Dekker.  Book 2.
  58. White by Ted Dekker. Book 3.

What a lovely year for reading!  There’s so much more to come…

Any recommendations?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, What I've Read

Leave a Reply

