Read in 2019

  • How to Talk So Kids Will Listen and Listen So Kids Will Talk by Adele Faber and Elaine Mazlish. Excellent. Of course, my kid is only three months old… The principles have already affected how I talk to Greg and to colleagues. 
  • Unplanned by Abby Johnson. Her story of becoming a Planned Parenthood director and how she left. Very powerful. 
  • Hood by Stephen Lawhead 
  • Scarlet by Stephen Lawhead
  • The New Jim Crow. Discussing the racial effects/underpinnings of the war on drugs and mass incarceration. Incredibly tough to read, but I’m glad I did. I found far less bias and anger than I expected and have come to agree with many of her assertions. I am left with a frustration of, What should we do now? (she shoots down a lot of “easy” legislative fixes). A renewed focus on justice for the poor. 
  • The Shift by Theresa Brown. 
  • Tuck by Stephen Lawhead 
  • Everything Happens for a Reason and Other Lies I’ve Loved by Kate Bowler. An account of diagnosis and life with serious cancer by an author who researches the prosperity gospel. 
  • Hillbilly Elegy by JD Vance 
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carrol. All those times I’ve told my dreams to my family at the breakfast table… could have been turned into a children’s classic. Honestly, this is what I expected from Inception and was rather disappointed by Inception’s normalcy. 
  • The Fifth Season by NK Jemisen. The sci fi was awesome, the sexual content was not. 
  • My grandmother asked me to tell you she’s sorry by Fredrik Backman 
  • Baby-led Weaning by Rapley and Murkett
  • It Takes a Church to Baptize by Scot McKnight
  • Evicted by Matthew Desmond
  • Seventh Son by Orson Scott Card. Preservation/ruin again? Is this a Mormon thing? Fun American frontier fantasy, but I would be careful about having my kids read it because of a confusing portrayal of Christianity. 
  • The Obelisk Gate by NK Jemisen 
  • The Stone Sky by NK Jemisen. The latter two books had basically no sexual content! Good sci fi, wrestling with oppression, family, and more. The science/magic got more confusing in these, but I still really enjoyed the world building. 
  • Endurance by Alfred Lansing. The true story of a failed Antarctic exploration mission from 1915. Manliness, endurance, courage. I enjoyed it. 
  • Womanly Art of Breastfeeding by La Leche League. 
  • Red Prophet by Orson Scott Card. Alvin Maker 2. The Reds are the Elves?
  • The Narnian by CS Lewis. I learned a lot I didn’t know before. Respecting him as a fallible man rather than someone who had it all figured out. My reading list is longer now. 
  • Lilith by George MacDonald
  • Prentice Alvin by Orson Scott Card
  • Great Divorce by CS Lewis
  • Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky. I definitely picture Kylo Ren as Roskolnikov. I wish I was still in a good class so I could discuss this book. 
  • Alvin Journeyman by Orson Scott Card
  • Heartfire by OSC
  • Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Graham
  • All Systems Red by Martha Wells
  • Artemis by Andy Weir
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. “Willy Wonka meets The Matrix.”
  • Crystal City by OSC. Oh so Mormon. 
  • A Father’s Tale by Michael O’Brien
  • Pilgrim’s Regress by CSL
  • Railway Children by E Nesbit
  • Mary Poppins Comes Back by PL Travers
  • The Princess Bride by William Goldman
  • Clouds of Witness by Dorothy Sayers
  • Unnatural Death by Dorothy Sayers
  • The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club by Dorothy Sayers
  • Strong Poison by Dorothy Sayers
  • My Antonia by Willa Cather

Leave a comment

Filed under What I've Read

Leave a comment